In the years after William Henry Henry’s death in 1882, his widow Mary Jane divided the property into smaller lots, some of which were sold by her and some by her children. The first of these was purchased by Sarah A Withington in 1887 for $400. Look for more about Withington and related land dealings in future blog posts.
By 1925, the dwellings in that location would all be torn down and an iconic brick office building erected by Apollo Iron & Steel Company on that property.
By the 1960s, that same building would be home to Babcock & Wilcox/NUMEC. NUMEC’s brick office building was demolished in the 1990s. So Mary Jane and William Henry’s property has once again become a vacant lot at the foot of N 7th Street, as it was back in the 1860s.
Read more about Mary Jane Truby and her family in this blog post: Mary Jane Truby & William H Henry: Sorrow & Suicide